Bringing Nature In…to your small space

Did I mention that the light is better in my new apartment? Especially in the living room (which will now be big enough for more than 3 people to hang out in comfortably), which was painted this weekend in beautiful naturey colors. I was toying with the idea of filling the space with so many plants that it resembled a Rousseau painting, but having always been a fan of white space, I think I may take a cue from floral designer Nicolette Camille’s Brooklyn apartment, which was featured in the sneak peak section of design*sponge this morning:

nicolettepeek21

nicolettepeek31

nicolettepeek41

nicolettepeek51

Bright and airy…and the space feels HUGE. And having lived in Brooklyn apartments for the last 8 years, believe me, there is no such thing (except if you’re reeech or live in Bushwick). I will do my best to emulate these perfectly placed (and spaced!) touches of nature, while at the same time taking into account that someone not of the female gender is going to be living with me.

Which segues into my next topic: the size of where you live – the space, or lack thereof, and sharing it with someone else. Butch and I are moving into an apartment that is roughly the same amount of space as I have been living in alone for the last couple of years. The big trade off being the proximity to Prospect Park/Brooklyn Botanic Garden, which to me equals an enormous backyard, and makes more sense than additional rooms to pack full of material possessions. So the vastness of Caveland may have the aesthetic appeal of Big Sky Country, but give me a Tumbleweed Tiny House any day…especially if I can plop it down on the Nethermead with baby boy.

2 thoughts on “Bringing Nature In…to your small space

  1. Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language 😉
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

  2. Hi there. Thanks for checking in! And don’t worry about your English – I make up my words half the time (I hope you’re not using this blog as any sort of English tutorial!) 😉

Leave a Reply

