Green Birth Control

450Geddes_flower

The other day I overhead a snippet of news that mentioned “green birth control”–which got me pumped. For all my sustainable efforts, I am aware that the very fact that I piss is destroying aquatic life. But what’s a girl to do? Finding the right birth control is an extremely personal choice, and one that is often decided by how your body reacts to different methods. I was lucky enough to choose a pill that has worked for me for over 10 years, so the idea of suddenly inserting an IUD at this stage in the game seems pointless (and expensive)–especially considering I can see myself having kids within the next 5 years. And being the lazy environmentalist that I am, the Natural Birth Method seems like a lot of work!

But all that aside, apparently green birth control doesn’t refer to an actual method of birth control, but a proposition of controlling how many children a woman gives birth to! By now everyone has heard the term carbon footprint, so the reasoning here is that the more lil’ ones you bring into the world, the more damage you’re doing to it. From an objective standpoint, it’s a valid argument. I’m not one to subscribe to mass-hysteria, but this theory has thrown a small wrench into the gears of my “garden of babies” dream. Then again, if I were to raise my kids to be green-minded, wouldn’t that be doing more for the future of this world then not having any kids at all? My childhood was spent in what was essentially a single family commune (complete with veggie garden, chickens, turkeys, pig, compost and no sugar/cable tv), and look what happened: My sister is out in the Middle East studying gulf economics (the belly of the beast with big oil) and I’m on my way to helping start a Better Farm.

So maybe I’ll just limit myself to 1 flower child?

 

Anne Geddes photo via Seattle PI

5 thoughts on “Green Birth Control

  1. As green and healthy as a girl can get is using the NFP method. For me though, calculating first thing in the morning was a hassle and I often forgot to make notes on my calender. Now I use Lady-Comp which does it for me.
    I feel good about the fact that I am no longer contributing to the massive amounts of hormones contaminating our water supply and I no longer have to deal with the nasty side-effects and risks from the pill. I would love to see more American women using this option. It seems Europeans caught on years ago but we are still lagging behind.

  2. Wow. Thank you, Heather! That is an extremely useful site. I do think I will eventually make the move to the NFP method. And I agree – we are behind Europeans in more ways than one!

  3. Misscorinne,
    If you are currently taking the pill, using the ‘ring’ or some other hormone method, I can assure you, there is a HUGE difference in going natural. I couldn’t believe how much better I felt overall. Everything improved.

  4. This is an interesting link, however, I have to ask if the author ever used a device for NFP. Discouraging women based upon strict adherence to philosophy as opposed to practicality and effectiveness is not a very smart or reliable health model. There are a lot of “die hards” who insist that NFP practice has to remain stagnant — and never progress or advance through technology. I think this is short-sighted and only encourages women to stay on dangerous forms of birth control.

Leave a Reply

