(Not) Home for the Holidays

There’s nothing like spending the holidays with someone else’s family…specifically Butch’s family. And besides 7 kinds of fish, a 4 sibling slumber party, and a partridge in a pear tree – the best part of Christmas was opening a present from Butch’s mom, Tracy, and seeing the confusion on everyone’s face as to why I was getting so excited about…

I mean, how could you not get excited about an illustrated guide to trees?! She also got me the companion book to the amazing PBS special The National Parks: America’s Best Idea. I missed the entire series when it was up for free online, so this is a nice alternative to the $100 price tag of buying the whole series myself.

A few other greatest hits from the holiday season…from Mom and Dad:

This one was found “gathering dust on the bookshelf”:

And besides fulfilling my life-long (well, at least since last Christmas) dream of seeing the Rockettes at the Radio City Music Hall’s Christmas Spectacular, Butchy got me the sweetest gift of all:

That’s right – my very own pole…in purple! So maybe now I can catch something on purpose…What was your favorite present you got this year?

One thought on “(Not) Home for the Holidays

Leave a Reply

