Excuse me, where are the Hollyhocks?

FUN FACT! “Outhouse” Hollyhocks are named so because in times of yore when they were used as decorative barriers for outhouses. This trend was started so refined ladies didn’t have to degrade themselves by asking where the bathroom was, just where the hollyhocks were! This also explains why in certain older neighborhoods, there are hollyhocks randomly growing along the back fence way across the yard.

I personally love love LOVE Nigra Hollyhocks – I mean, a black flower? Really? Isn’t that what brought down the entire Netherlands tulip empire back in the day (according to Michael Pollan)? But the truth is, I will probably have to go with something a little brighter to stand out against our dark brown house….I’m thinking lots of bright pinks and yellows and oranges and whites….and…

That’s right – it’s time for ordering seeds! Butch and I have been pouring over seed catalogues, making lists, checking twice and basically trying to control our spending urges on our first garden. I’ve officially made Butch in charge of ordering for the veggie patch, and I’ll handle the flowers and landscaping. The catalogues we’ve looked at are Burpee, Harris Seeds, Jung and Seed Savers Exchange. Seed Savers is especially cool because they carry a lot of heirloom varieties – I told Butch he should send them some of his family string been seeds (of which he’s very excited to finally plant).

I also just discovered Cherrygal online today and they’re cheaper than any of the above places…true, you get less seeds per packet, but I don’t need 200 sunflower seeds that will just go bad by next year anyway.

But in truth, we’re not going to start too many things by seed anyway…I know what Kring’s carries and can just hop over there come May for some sturdy little plants that I know won’t die on me. Ooh…I can’t wait! Well, there’s still some time before last frost so…back to sewing curtains…

2 thoughts on “Excuse me, where are the Hollyhocks?

  1. Hey Corinne! Don’t forget Pinetree Seeds from the next town over, New Gloucester, Maine! If my memory is correct they also have packets with less seeds, so are cheaper. Plus they sell what’s good for this climate. Bet they have a website…..mom

Leave a Reply

