Big (Green) Deal (?): Flat-Pack Vases

The flat-pack vase is not a new idea, but I was reminded of it when my mom (aka, “F that S’s biggest fan”) recently bought me one. One of the original companies to come up with the flat-pack idea is Tel Aviv-based T.H+E designs, but there are countless versions now (And I can’t remember who made the one I have…).

Apparently, Gerber daisies are the norm for these things, since here’s a shot of mine in action:

There’s been discussion on the web about whether this vase can be considered “green.” T.H+E points out that the resources needed to create a glass vase far outweigh what’s needed to create the flat-pack (kind of like the “Styrofoam is better for the environment than paper” argument)…And the mere fact that this vase can fold makes it preferred for those of us living in small spaces (the creme de la creme of being green, didntchaknow?). On the other hand, it is a flimsy plastic vase, one that may not last as long as its glass counterpart, which hints at an early end in the landfill…which echoes an article I read recently on how people can be more “green” by buying more well-made products, in the theory that they will last longer, and therefore stay out of the trash longer…

So what are your thoughts? Should we focus on what’s green now or later? Or is the only thing green about any vase the flower that’s in it, chemically preserved as it is?

Flat-pack photo from At Home with Kim Valee

3 thoughts on “Big (Green) Deal (?): Flat-Pack Vases

  1. My thoughts would be:
    1. Do I really need another one? I have four in the cupboard…all different sizes that rarely get used…because I don’t having a cutting garden and don’t buy flowers
    2. I usually vote for plastic over glass…it will outlast and can then be recycled easier.
    3. Space saving is great…but if I am planning to store it a lot…then do I really need it? see #1

  2. These are all interesting points. I have a lot of different vases, but I do grow/buy cut flowers (I work in a flower shop)…but have always run into problems storing them. My current solution is a shelf in the bathroom – kind of a strange location, but I think it looks pretty and doesn’t take up prime kitchen space.

    In terms of your point on recycling – I don’t know if recycling plastic is necessarily *easier* (most transfer stations take both), but I do know that recycling glass uses more energy (similar to what I was saying above on the original production of a glass vase vs. a plastic one)…

    Thanks for weighing in!

Leave a Reply

