Mark Zuckerberg’s MeatFace vs. Flexitarianism

So apparently Mark Zuckerberg has created a personal goal of only eating meat that he killed himself or actively sent to be slaughtered. It’s an interesting method for him to present, because even if people don’t follow in his footsteps exactly, at least it gets them thinking about the fact that a living thing had to die for them to eat it.

Having grown up with chickens, turkeys and a pig that we cared for then subsequently ate, I have always been aware of the answer to “What came first, the chicken or the chicken patty?” But it is true that many people, having never been exposed to the farming lifestyle, don’t sit there and ponder the life cycle of their double cheese burger. However, actually killing an animal in order to eat it makes me a little squeamish – not because I don’t respect that animal’s life, but because I’m a big wuss. I mean, I can’t take the fish off my own hook, but I’ll gladly eat it (after Butch does all the filleting, of course).

A better option (for me) is what some call flexitarianism, which translates into not eating meat every night, due to the negative effects livestock have on the environment. This shouldn’t be a problem for us, since at least a few nights a week are meatless due to lack of supplies, motivation or an overabundance of veggies from the garden. Just in the past few days we’ve had pasta with herbs and salad and delicious stuffed zuchini – no meat needed!

We’re also interested in buying more meat locally, specifically from Cross Island Farms on Wellesley Island, as that will help cut down on the environmental impact of shipping meat from elsewhere. And maybe someday we’ll have a little coop o’ dreams as well.

What are your thoughts on Zuckerberg’s goal? Or the idea of flexitarianism?

 

Farmville cow from cheatspulse.com

 

 

2 thoughts on “Mark Zuckerberg’s MeatFace vs. Flexitarianism

  1. Coming from a family who fishes and hunts, I’ve grown into a vegetarian who supports them. I think it’s far more desirable to hunt/raise your own meat as long as you go about it respectfully. Even in vegetarianism, there are arguably less ethical means of getting your food (monoculture big-ag soy farms come to mind…) My hat’s off to Zuckerberg and all the “flexitarians” out there.

    That said, I do laugh a little at the term “flexitarian.” Do we really need that? It’s really just a different way of saying “healthy omnivore.” I’ve always been one for calling a spade a spade. And really… there are still so many people out there who don’t know the difference between vegetarians and vegans… Do we need another confusing, trendy word to mix it up further? lol

  2. I agree – the term “flexitarian” is a little ridiculous. It really is about where and how your food gets to you. But it is nice that such a high profile figure as Mark Zuckerberg is openly thinking about where his food comes from…at least it gets people talking!

    And I think I’m going to start calling myself a “fooditarian.”

Leave a Reply

