Bookworm: Natural Companions – The Garden Lover’s Guide to Plant Combinations

Ken Druse joined forces with photographer Ellen Hoverkamp to create Natural Companions: The Garden Lover’s Guide to Plant Combinations. Druse describes it as containing “over 200 scans and conventional photographs illustrating perfect plant pairings using diverse species that grow together culturally, look good aesthetically and bloom at the same time.”

Reminds me of Intimacy by Joyce Tenneson, but with more substance than just spectacular images of flowers. I covet this book – too bad my birthday already happened this year!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Bookworm: Natural Companions – The Garden Lover’s Guide to Plant Combinations

  1. Thank you so much for your endorsement of the book, Corinne.
    Ken and I are both proud too. There are 144 scans in Natural Companions and Ken supplied plants for 60 of them. It was an incredible amount of work. I value our collaboration on this project more than words can convey, but I did make an attempt at articulation on the blog page on my website. All of the scans from the book are also available as archival prints on my website. Please visit:
    http://www.myneighborsgarden.com
    See what Ken is up to and listen to his weekly podcast, “Real Dirt” at:
    http://www.kendruse.typepad.com/

    Happy Spring!
    Ellen

  2. Hi Ellen! I saw a review of the book on another blog (garden rant, maybe?) and it took my breath away. I will probably end up getting a copy for myself at some point, but that’s good to know about the availability of prints. And I love Ken’s podcasts!

    Thanks for commenting – and Happy Spring to you!
    – Corinne

Leave a Reply

