Spotlight On: The Homeless Photo Booth Project by Photographer Amelia Burns

Attn anonymous hater: Please see this post here and then please, grow up and go away.

My friend, photographer Amelia Burns, is preparing to undertake an important journey of bringing hope, growth, recovery, recognition and cheer to homeless people across the country. The result will be The Homeless Photo Booth Project and it deserves everyone’s support! She is one of the most genuine, special people I know and I love that this project was inspired by her (now passed) father, who worked very closely with the homeless himself when he was alive. Please get behind this wonderful project…I know I’m on the lookout for a Winnebago (or suitable substitute…).

WHAT IS THE HOMELESS PHOTO BOOTH PROJECT?

My name is Amelia Burns, and I am an artist living in Ithaca, New York! I have been taking pictures since I was twelve years old. I have a BFA in Photography from Pratt Institute in Brooklyn, New York, and I specialize in intimate street portraits.

My campaign is a combination of my personal dream to travel the country photographing people in a photo booth, and my late father’s dream to SPREAD THE CHEER with photos conveying these priciples:

HOPE, GROWTH, RECOVERY, RECOGNITION, AND CHEER!

I want to illuminate the unseen, and challenge my viewers to see beyond their set ideas about humanity. I have a passion for capturing people’s spirit with my camera, and I am inspired to help people live better lives and to transform into the people they would like to be. I want to combine my love for photography and my enchantment with people! I want my photos to show the world what I feel and see about humanity, and SPREAD THE CHEER.

My hope is that this project will illuminate a group of people that encompass all facets of our society. “The Homeless”, includes many different groups, ranging from the drug addicted, the mentally ill, people who have simply lost there jobs, the homeless by choice, etc. I want to explore and celebrate who the homeless of our country are and give them a face and a place to shine.

At the projects end, I intend to Publish a book of all the portraits, and have an art opening!

COMING SOON!

THEHOMLESSPHOTOBOOTH.COM

TWITTER/THEHOMELESSPHOTOBOOTH

FACEBOOK.COM/THEHOMELESSPHOTOBOOTH

I WILL BE UPDATING THE PHOTOS ON THE WEBSITE AS I TRAVEL AND LETTING FOLKS KNOW WHAT I AM DOING AND WHERE I HAVE BEEN, AND WHO I HAVE MET!

WHAT IS A PHOTO BOOTH?

Here are some examples of some photo booth excitement i have done in the past at parties and events:

http://ameliaburns.squarespace.com/events/

WHAT I NEED TO MAKE THIS HAPPEN, AND WHAT YOU GET FOR HELPING!

In order to make this happen I will need $25,000. The money will fund:

A WINNEBAGO/CAMPER (FOR ME TO TRAVEL AND LIVE IN)

STUDIO LIGHTS (FOR THE BOOTH)

COMPUTER EXPENSES (HARD DRIVES, MEMORY, REPAIRS, ETC.)

CAMERA EXPENSES (BATTERIES, SD CARDS, ETC.)

GAS

FOOD

The perks that you will recieve if you contribute are as follows:

$5- A PORTRAIT POSTCARD FROM THE ROAD! (In which I will thank you personally    for helping out!)

$15- PAPER BAG SPREAD THE CHEER KOOSIE! (keeps any kind of beverage kool and cheerful!)

$25-  A “SPREAD THE CHEER” BUMPER STICKER! (So you can spread the cheer and show your support for The Homeless Photo Booth!)

$50-  A “SPREAD THE CHEER” MUG! (So you can drink your coffee with joy!)

$100- AN 8X10 PRINT OF A PORTRAIT FROM THE PROJECT

$500- A ONE OF A KIND “L.A. LOOKS” 24X35 PORTRAIT ON CANVAS! (ONLY 5 AVAILABLE! http://www.ameliaburns.com/portfolio/la-looks/)

$800- A SIGNED COPY OF THE HOMELESS PHOTOBOOTH BOOK WHEN FINISHED!

$1000- A PHOTO BOOTH FOR YOU! (I WILL TRAVEL TO YOU AND SET UP MY BOOTH FOR YOU AND YOUR FRIENDS AT AN OCCASION OF YOUR CHOICE!)

If i do not reach my monetary goal, I will continue to fundraise until I achieve my goal, using other methods.

THE IMPACT

My hope is that this project with give faces to “the homeless”, while illuminating spirits and opening minds!

My intent is to give HOPE, inspire GROWTH, feed RECOVERY, give RECOGNITION, and spread CHEER.

I want to raise awareness with my photos and discover and explore our human condition.

YOU CAN MAKE A DIFFERENCE IN SOMEONES LIFE BY CONTRIBUTING. YOUR HELP WILL SPREAD CHEER, AND RAISE AWARENESS OF THE HOMELESS PEOPLE IN THIS COUNTRY.

OTHER WAYS YOU CAN HELP

GET THE WORD OUT AND SHARE, SHARE, SHARE!!! PLEASE LET EVERYONE KNOW, AND REMEMBER TO SPREAD THE CHEER!

