It finally happened…..

With a week and a half to go….I got a job offer.

I can’t even express how hectic things have been since I last posted. More than usual, I mean. 2 weeks ago, I had 4 interviews in 3 days, with 3 of those extending into 2nd interviews, or take-home-design-tests, or intense reference checking. It’s dizzying, I know. So by Thursday of last week, I was collapsed against a tree in Washington Square park with uncontrollable tears while an aging hippie alternated between playing the flute and the bongo a few feet away. Can’t get much lower than that.

But as “they” say: It’s always darkest before the dawn. Yesterday morning, I came into work and found an email titled “Offer Time” from one of those recent interviews. I literally stared at it for a good 30 seconds before even opening it, I was that shocked. Then I slowly began to realize that I do not have to worry anymore…I don’t have to spend hours of my life searching through job postings and applying and trekking around to interviews…And it sounds totally cheesy, but a huge weight literally came off my shoulders.

Ok, enough lifetime movie – Here’s the deal with the job: It’s an Office Manager position with this awesome web design company, located in Dumbo. When I walked in for my first interview, I was like, holy c, this is nice. It’s one of those funky loft spaces with open desk areas and bike racks and a rec room with arcade games. And I guess they’re remodeling in the next couple of months too, so I can help with that, besides my admin stuff. I’m apparently also in charge of planning staff activities and outings (Hello, karaoke?). And dudes are aware and pumped about my graphic design skills, so there will be opportunities to incorporate those in the future. So, a chill environment, minutes from my apt and a chance to learn web design for free? I’ll take it.

So for the next couple of weeks I’ll be finishing up the final issue of Playgirl (which, sidenote, features Randy Jones, cowboy from the Village People), and hopefully doing a little relaxing, aka communing with nature. I’m still working out the exact start date with the Domani peeps (thanks, Stephanie, for helping me sound authoritative instead of psycho in my email!), but I’ll let ya know!

Aaaand, my floral design classes officially start tomorrow, so expect weekly recaps. The adventure continues…

Leave a comment